Better Late than Never

Being immersed in this new place I have found myself slacking on the written documentation of my time.

Istanbul is fantastic.

After the first week I felt the same connection with the city that I felt with Rome after five. It really pulls you in. To date it has been ten days. A measly ten days and I already know how to use the public transportation to comfortably get to our site, where we live, and the center, walked past/visited many “iconic monuments”, visited the Spice and Grand Bazaars, meandered the Istiklal Caddesi, tried dozens of new foods, experienced Turkish tea, climbed up several hills, and took a tour of the Bosphorus. Which I have to say has been the highlight of my days thus far.

Don’t get me wrong, the Blue Mosque and Kilic Ali Pasha Complex were astounding as well, but there is just something about the Bosphorus.

The salty smell, the swaying feeling; it was all surprisingly pleasant to a girl who has never been eager to spend 6 hours on the water. Like children running to the door after the recess bell has rung, I got the feeling buildings and houses seem to huddle on the shoreline, hugging the topographical variation. Almost as if the water does not separate the land but the land came to the water’s edge. Much different than the relationship that was felt between Rome and the Tiber.

Here are some images of my time on the Bosphorus, and one video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vh-x3ZsllFw

Oh, and I love Istanbul’s two slender bridges. Passing under them by boat was fun. Image 

Image

Image

Image

Image

3 comments

Leave a Reply

