Istanbul Modern

I figured I’d make a Top 3 of Istanbul Modern, which was not easy, not only because I couldn’t find half of the names and artworks that I wrote down, but because it was one of my favorite modern art museum’s that I’ve been to in a long time. I still prefer Centre Pompidou and the Guggenheim, which selectively shows their massive collections (Pompidou shows a lot more). The bottom of the list is Museu d’Art Contemporani de Barcelona, which encompasses my disapproval of how we define modern art.

Ramazan Bayrakoğlu, 1966, Fire, 2010

This is serigraphy ink on plexiglass panel, and each small section is quite beautiful. 
r-bayrakoglu-yangin_5_5100723

Olafur Eliasson, 1967 Red Emotional Globe, 2010

When I walked into Istanbul Modern and this is one of the first things that I saw, I knew I was in for a good visit.

olafureliasson137_5_6181188 (1)

Hale Tenger

I initally walked past this until I realized someone had walked out. I moved through 6 feet of feather rope to arrive in an all black room with stars on the walls, and an illuminated planet in the middle. The music starts and a second planet reveals itself, quite a nice project.

images (10)

 

Leave a Reply

