Finally, a date with the Pope!

If you can’t tell from the title of my post, I was so excited to see the Pope give his Sunday address this morning.  The first time I tried to do this I made sure that I arrived early enough to do a little sketching and find the perfect viewing spot, but my fingers got cold, I went to grab a cup of coffee to warm them up and I ended up missing the whole address…. It was probably one of the most depressing moments of my life.

DSCF3796

What was really neat about experiencing the address was the fact that all the cardinals and all the other important Ecclesiastic church figures came out and mingled with the crowd, all of us sharing the same purpose of waiting patiently for the Pope to grace us with his presence.  Shawn and I were within arms length of three cardinals but I wasn’t sure if it would have been socially acceptable to ask for a photo with them.  Although, I did see a man go up and touch one of the cardinal’s crosses he wore around his neck.  I’m pretty sure that is a major sin right there, you can’t just go up and touch the bling of a cardinal!

Hearing the crowd go wild for the Pope was unbelievable.  It felt like I was standing front row to a Justin Bieber concert or something, all the women screaming intensely, ok I was one of those women too.  Shawn was even screaming, but keep this on the down-low, he was probably the loudest one out there!

Getting blessed by the Pope was probably the most rewarding feeling of the whole trip.  Even though I’m not Catholic, I still felt like I was a part of this Christian community, which is definitely something that I’ve missed while being abroad.  Since the Pope blessed my day, I made it my sole mission to have the best last Sunday in Rome, and you know what, I did!

This was my last day of official fun… I, with the rest of us, will be locking ourselves in our apartment until our final review on Thursday morning.  Good luck to all of you and I’ll be seeing you on the other side!

Leave a Reply

