By candlelight

In the midst of all the political unrest in Turkey, my studiomates and myself were living in our own personal unrest to finish our diagrams based on our site visits to Karakoy, Eminonu, and the Galata Bridge for studio. All of us were bunkered down in our apartments listening to the people’s chants outside while pondering the impending fate of our drawings. All was merry and bright (see what I did there) until the power went out in our apartment and some of the surrounding area.

image-3

While some went into panic on whether they were going to finish their drawings on time (which was partly me), others were lighting candles to provide some much needed light for us to see. We all congregated in the kitchen of the girls’ apartment to talk about what happened and what to do next. I would love to say we sat around telling scary ghost stories, but alas we separated into groups of people that went to go check out the action on our balcony while others decided to watch a movie to pass the time.

I, on the other hand, had different plans. With some of my other fellow student, I tried my hand at drawing and watercoloring by candlelight. Inspired by the makeshift ambience and a few headlamps, we powered through the night and persevered to finish our drawings in time. Honestly, it was kind of nice to work in the peace and quiet of our apartment. I felt like I was back in the olden days hand-drawing maps of the area for citizens to use and understand. Either that or in the midst of a horror movie.

DSC00184DSC00187

Fortunately, (mostly unfortunately) the power came back on a couple of hours later to the dismay of my fellow studiomates. Luckly, the work that I accomplished in the dark looked the same in the light and not like a five year old colored over my paper. Eventually, all of us slowly made our way back to our drawing positions and worked until the wee hours of the morning trying to finish our drawings. But, I will never forget that night, stranded in our apartment drawing the night away with the dim light of candles as our only source of light in the middle of a protest right outside our doors. I would also like to mention that all of us got our drawings done and had a wonderful review with the brilliant leadership of Ozayr and Brad.

One comment

  1. Ozayr

    Study abroad at its best – I think you’ll remember this for a long time to come. I love the miner’s flashlight, too. It looks like you guys are illuminating manuscripts in a monastery somewhere…

Leave a Reply

