Friend of Bruno

Studying abroad is a great experience that everyone should have the opportunity to enjoy. This is especially true if you are traveling to great cities like Rome and Istanbul. However, with a semester of traveling one can become a bit shaggy and may require a trim or in my case a complete grooming. Heres my experience getting a haircut in Istanbul  with only a minimal understanding of the Turkish language; hopefully this can help future students that also wish to get haircuts abroad.

After traveling for over a month and a half in Italy my flowing locks had begun to get into my eyes and was effecting my ability to sketch. When I arrived in Turkey I decided it was due time that I get a haircut, and began to inquire as to where I may get one. Luckily knowing some friends that had already been staying in the city for a month they referred me to a salon not far from the accent centerer where we attended classes.

Screen Shot 2014-05-06 at 4.42.24 PM

Bruno’s may seem intimidating at first, especially if your Turkish vocabulary only consists of hello and thank you, but surprisingly this salon was very accommodating. Upon entering I was greeted by a pleasant and helpful staff who were eager to begin hacking through the tangled bush that was now my hair. 

Screen Shot 2014-05-06 at 4.43.46 PM

To help diminish the language barrier gap my stylist sat me down at a chair and handed me an iPad, which contained pictures of celebrities ranging from Brad Pitt to Taylor Lautner. I’ve always considered myself to be a bit of a Beckham so I selected a style that I thought would be met with approval and handed the device back to my stylist. He was apparently unimpressed with my selection and told me that he would be selecting a style for me himself. 

Screen Shot 2014-05-06 at 4.50.21 PMScreen Shot 2014-05-09 at 6.29.19 PMScreen Shot 2014-05-09 at 6.32.29 PM

I buckled up and prepared for the worst as he took out his little machete haircutter and began to hack away at my mane. I soon discovered that getting a haircut was no short and simple procedure but a full on make over process. Expect the full works with shampooing, tea and even a shave. 

After it was all said and done I was quite pleased with the outcome of my new haircut; mainly because the horizon line no longer held a bobbing brown mass that, until this point ,had been obscuring my vision for the entirety of my trip. Yet the most surprising part of this experience was the price. At 30TL ( roughly 15 dollars) there was no way I could argue with the outcome of my haircut. 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

If one finds themselves in Istanbul looking for a trim just stay calm, ask around and do not hesitate to check out Bruno’s, you will not be disappointed with your purchase.

Leave a Reply

