Art Nouveanbul

Peter here. Forgive me for my post titles, they’re horrendous I know.

Like any strategically located ancient city with frequent earthquakes and few building codes, Istanbul is a constantly evolving mix of every architectural style ever. One in particular catches my eye everyday on our walk to class.

Tucked in between Neo-Classical and Beaux-Arts lie the undulating biomorphic forms, finely ornamented facades, and writhing metal entryways of early 20th century Art Nouveau. This style is sprinkled throughout the area surrounding Taksim Square where we live and along Istiklal Avenue. Italian architect Raimondo D’Aronco introduced art Nouveau to Istanbul during his 16 years as chief palace architect under the Ottoman Sultan Abdülhamid II.

Feel free to take a peek at my collection:

IMG_0955

 

The entrance to one of Istiklal's side streets where Charlie and I devour mussels with rice and lemon juice.

The entrance to one of Istiklal’s side streets where Charlie and I devour mussels with rice and lemon juice.

 

I don't know what it is, but I know it's my favorite.

I don’t know what it is, but I know it’s my favorite.

Door #1: okay

Door #1: Okay

Door #2: Better

Door #2: Better

Best

Door #3: Best

Door #4: Selfie worthy.

Door #4: Selfie worthy.

IMG_0937IMG_0924IMG_0950

An expertly placed door.

An expertly placed door.

So cute!

So cute! So squished! Probably not Art Nouveau!

The Jewel of my collecction: The Camondo Steps. ~1880

The Jewel of my collecction: The Camondo Steps. ~1880

Fish Eye sketch

Fish Eye sketch

I like to call this "Camondo's unfortunate step brother".

I like to call this “Camondo’s unfortunate step brother”.

Studio right before Friday review.

Studio right before Friday review.

Leave a Reply

