Crunch Time pt. 2

Well here we go again. Our time in Istanbul is quickly coming to an end and the light at the end of the tunnel is near! It has been an amazing journey so far. The time we have left is accelerated by trying to finish our final projects. Our design studio has had us redesigning a ferry station/kiosk/plaza, and our drawing project has us interpreting a historical place in the city. For me, my studio has me designing a plaza, on that is very important to the history and movement of Istanbul. For my drawing project, I randomly chose from a hat a park that dates back nearly a thousand years.

With the clock ticking down to the final 36 hours we are yet again running off of no sleep, coffee, Redbull and Snickers. Once these final days are done my trip is not over! The morning after our final drawing review I hop on a plane and fly back to Cappadocia with my family to do basically the same tour I did over spring break. I will probably sleep for the first half of it. After a week of traveling with my family I will then fly to meet Sam in Morocco. We have planned a week of traveling around Morocco and are trying to book a trip into the desert to ride camels and go sand boarding. Finally, after that is finished I will travel back to Minnesota for the summer, back to work and reality.

It is hard to say what going back to the states will be like. I have never been in a city like Istanbul for a long period of time, and in comparison to Minneapolis, Istanbul is chaos. There still is no way to describe what it is like here. Defining what “Turkish” means is nearly impossible. It is a vast array of adjectives like: loud, fast, chaotic, beautiful, artsy, peaceful, humble, real, expansive… etc. I think the only thing I know for sure is that it is indescribable.

There are a few things that I will miss when I return home. The first being the animals in the street. I love petting the dogs and cats. It is a struggle during finals to see them out sunbathing as I walk to class to spend 10 hours sitting at my computer. The second thing I will miss is having the accessibility to simple things in the street at any given moment. I love that I can quick go buy a çay (tea) at any corner, or buy a candy bar or par (pomegranate). It is truly a city that needs to be taken in at a street level in order to experience it fully. Flying over and seeing it’s expanse does not do it justice.

It is about 1:30 am here and I have been slowly checking off things on my to-do list. It is 12 hours until our studio final review, then another 24 until our drawing review. Sleep is looking doubtful, more like naps here and there, chased by a Redbull. We are in a mild (some severe) panic mode, but it will all get finished, it always does. As design majors we do it to our selves. Nitpick at the details, pull long nights for projects that will never be built. It is crunch time, and we love to hate it.

The view on our daily walk down Istiklal

The view on our daily walk down Istiklal

Leave a Reply

